The VSPC is divided into six equally weighted voting sectors, each of which has one vote determined by the majority of members within the sector. The Public Utility Commission appoints the public members and the supply resources representative in the Supply & Demand Resources Sector. The graphic at right shows the composition of the six sectors.

The public members and alternate members servings as the residential, commercial, environmental, and planning representatives have five-year terms that end on July 31, 2028.  The member and alternate member representing supply resources will serve a five-year term ending on July 31, 2029.  The Public Utility Commission typically starts the process to seek new members approximately 4-6 months before member terms expire.


Public Members

Term Dates

Tim DugganResidential RepresentativePrimary7/31/2023 - 7/31/2028 
Susan ParuchResidential RepresentativeAlternate7/31/2023 - 7/31/2028
Michael KirickCommercial RepresentativePrimary7/13/2023 - 7/31/2028
Molly Mahar, VT Ski Area AssociationCommercial RepresentativeAlternate7/17/2024 - 7/31/2028
Johanna Miller, VT Natural Resources CouncilEnvironmental RepresentativePrimary7/31/2023- 7/31/2028 
Steve Crowley, Sierra ClubEnvironmental RepresentativeAlternate7/31/2023 - 7/31/2028
Taylor Newton, Chittenden Regional Planning CommissionPlanning RepresentativePrimary7/31/2023 - 7/31/2028
George Gross, Town of Shoreham Planning Commission Planning RepresentativeAlternate7/31/2023 - 7/31/2028


Distribution Utilities with Transmission

Kamran HassanGreen Mountain PowerPrimary 
Douglas SmithGreen Mountain PowerAlternate 
Kris SmithVermont Electric CooperativePrimary 
Michael Beaulieu Vermont Electric CooperativeAlternate 


Large Transmission-Dependent Utilities

Munir KastiBurlington Electric DepartmentPrimary 
Bill PowellWashington Electric DepartmentPrimary 


Transmission-Dependent Utilities

Vera LaPorteBarton Village Electric Primary 
John DasaroEnosburg Falls Water & LightPrimary 
Scott JohnstoneHardwick Electric DepartmentPrimary 
Brian Evans-MongeonHyde Park Electric DepartmentPrimary 
Erick BaileyJohnson Water & LightPrimary 
Thomas PetraskaLudlow Electric DepartmentPrimary 
Jonathan ElwellLyndon Electric DepartmentPrimary 
Scott JohnstoneMorrisville Water & LightPrimary 
Stephen L. FitzhughNorthfield Electric DepartmentPrimary 
John MorleyOrleans Electric DepartmentPrimary 
Jackie PrattStowe Electric DepartmentPrimary 
Bill SheetsSwanton Electric DepartmentPrimary 
Lynn ParadisSwanton Electric DepartmentAlternate 


Supply & Demand Resources

David WestmanEfficiency VermontPrimary 
Chris BurnsBurlington Electric DepartmentPrimary 
Nathaniel VandalGreen Peak Solar, LLCPrimary4/18/2019 - 7/31/2024
Derek MoretzAlpenglow Solar, LLCAlternate4/18/2019 - 7/31/2024 


Transmission Utility

Hantz PrésuméVELCOPrimary 
Frank EttoriVELCOAlternate 


Non-Voting Participants

Bill Jordan, Engineering DirectorPublic Service Department  
TJ Poor, Planning DirectorPublic Service Department  
Carolyn Alderman, VEPP Inc.SPEED Facilitator  
Shana Louiselle, VSPC Facilitator/SecretaryStaff  


Get Involved with VSPC

Get Involved 

Learn how to get involved with the Vermont System Planning Committee

Learn More